How to Delete GroupMe Messages or Chat History?

After sending embarrassing messages or photos in GroupMe, many people want to delete the GroupMe messages. But how to delete or hide messages in GroupMe?

Honestly, you can hide messages but it will still show up on everyone else’s devices. You also can clear the chat history, which will remove the messages from your phone permanently, but again, this will only remove the messages on your device. In short, you cannot make the GroupMe messages disappeared just like the messages and pictures on Snapchat.

This tutorial will show you how to delete or hide GroupMe messages.

Delete GroupMe Messages

Part 1: Delete GroupMe Messages

The only GroupMe message deletion you can perform is clearing your chat history. This works will clear the GroupMe messages on your device but doesn’t delete the messages on others devices. Therefore, it would be not helpful for privacy purposes. However, it is a good way to save space on your phone.

Follow the steps below to clear GroupMe chat history.

Important: Once you’ve cleared your chat history from your device, you can’t recover it. Therefore, please make sure you have gotten what you need from the chat before you do it.

Step 1: Select the group or individual chat that you want.

Step 2: Select the chat’s avatar, then select “Settings”.

Step 3. Select “Clear Chat History”.

Step 4: Select “Clear” in the confirmation box that appears. Your chat history will be cleared.

Part 2: Hide GroupMe Messages

Sometimes, too many messages distract us from important chats. In this case, you can hide GroupMe messages to keep things simple. By removing some messages from the main view, you are more likely to concentrate on others

To hide a message:

Step 1: Select the chat you want to edit.

Step 2: Find the message you want to hide, then tap and hold or right-click that message.

Step 3: Select “Hide” or “Hide Message”.

To show hidden messages: 

Step 1: Select the group or personal avatar.

Step 2: Select “Settings”.

Step 3: Select “Unhide hidden messages”.

Tips: Signing out and signing back in will also unhide all hidden messages.

Conclusion

GroupMe brings group text messaging to every phone, but it is a regret that it doesn’t allow us to delete messages on both sides. In this case, you should think twice before sending any private or sensitive messages.

admin
  • admin
  • I'm Lois, the creator of Appreview360.com. I hope this app review website can help people easily discover cool and useful apps. If you are an app developer or own an app and want to get it in front of the right audience, you can contact us. If you want to introduce some cool apps to more people, you can write for us.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *